Go Back   NYCMaximas.org Forums > Maxima Pitstop > Technical Questions > Tuning - Performance Optimization

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2011   #1
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
performance chip

What is a good performance chip for my 5.5 Gen?
__________________
2002 maxima se auto SOLD BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
2002 maxima se 6 speed R.I.P
2010 maxima sv CURRENT
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #2
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

They make them for our cars ?
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #3
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

I believe so
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #4
ncusher
Blasian Persuasion Sensation
 
ncusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,153
Chats: 51
Rep Power: 17
ncusher will become famous soon enough
Re: performance chip

Doritoes are good
__________________


OFFICIAL Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #5
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncusher View Post
Doritoes are good
I'll look it up. U have it on your Max? Lol

Last edited by Knightrider02; 02-11-2011 at 10:17 PM.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #6
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

wtf ? doritos ? c'mon but these blazin buffalo ones are good.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #7
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Nah son da spicy sweet chilli is da best
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011   #8
din9lebrah
Previously known as din9lebeRrY
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 6,207
Chats: 5009
Rep Power: 27
din9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of light
Re: performance chip

yo ignore all of them, on a serious note this is what I had installed on my i35 (5.5 gen) and it gave A TON of power. I felt most of it mid range:

http://www.performancechipsdirect.com/Nissan/Maxima/

Click the image to open in full size.

They lie when they say 60 hp (and fuel economy increase lol), I tested on a dynojet and saw a 26 WHP and 35 WTQ increase over baseline, on stock setup.

I bought mine used from a member on here (Arturo, if you remember), but for $70 you cant go wrong.

Plus I hear it changes the VTC crossover point so with boltons you should get more power.
__________________
RIP Bishnu 03/17/86 - 07/10/11
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #9
Fr3sh
New Member
 
Fr3sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 41
Chats: 11
Rep Power: 0
Fr3sh is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

im going to order it for my i35
__________________
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #10
steves01max
Member
 
steves01max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 376
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 16
steves01max is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Would there be a performance chip available for a 5th gen?
__________________
2001 Super Black AE Maxima
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #11
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by din9lebeRrY View Post
yo ignore all of them, on a serious note this is what I had installed on my i35 (5.5 gen) and it gave A TON of power. I felt most of it mid range:

http://www.performancechipsdirect.com/Nissan/Maxima/

Click the image to open in full size.

They lie when they say 60 hp (and fuel economy increase lol), I tested on a dynojet and saw a 26 WHP and 35 WTQ increase over baseline, on stock setup.

I bought mine used from a member on here (Arturo, if you remember), but for $70 you cant go wrong.

Plus I hear it changes the VTC crossover point so with boltons you should get more power.
Good looking my dude I'll check it out
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #12
din9lebrah
Previously known as din9lebeRrY
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 6,207
Chats: 5009
Rep Power: 27
din9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of light
Re: performance chip

Yo it connects to the MAF and IAT and that shit will give you maddd powa.

Don't buy it till you verify if your MAF has an extra port for an O2 sensor. Some 5.5's didn't come with it...so it wont work unless you got that port. It plugs directly into that.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #13
EddyMaxx
Owner
 
EddyMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,777
Chats: 7284
Rep Power: 24
EddyMaxx has a spectacular aura aboutEddyMaxx has a spectacular aura aboutEddyMaxx has a spectacular aura about
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by din9lebeRrY View Post
Yo it connects to the MAF and IAT and that shit will give you maddd powa.

Don't buy it till you verify if your MAF has an extra port for an O2 sensor. Some 5.5's didn't come with it...so it wont work unless you got that port. It plugs directly into that.
He will also need to use 93 octane for it to work properly. The ECU overload connection bypasses the stock fuel map.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #14
CLIPSE
New Member
 
CLIPSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Chats: 30
Rep Power: 15
CLIPSE is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

what do yall think about ..G FORCE chips ?
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #15
packetattack
NYCMaximas Founder
 
packetattack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,669
Chats: 15967
Rep Power: 40
packetattack is just really nicepacketattack is just really nicepacketattack is just really nicepacketattack is just really nicepacketattack is just really nice
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightrider02 View Post
What is a good performance chip for my 5.5 Gen?
Questions like these needs to be posted in the Performance Optimization section. Please review all of our sections and prefixes before creating a thread. Moved for you.
__________________


Click the image to open in full size.


Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #16
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

I bit the bullet and ordered one of these, after you order you need to call them with your order number and they ask you what engine, blah blah blah so the make sure they send you the correct stuff.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011   #17
din9lebrah
Previously known as din9lebeRrY
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 6,207
Chats: 5009
Rep Power: 27
din9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of lightdin9lebrah is a glorious beacon of light
Re: performance chip

fml^ 10 char
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #18
jamsmax
Previously known as : jams2001MaxSe
 
jamsmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bk
Posts: 656
Chats: 951
Rep Power: 14
jamsmax is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

interested in one of these performance chips as well!!! There should be a chip for the 5thgen max!!!! I'm gona check ....
__________________
Jamz
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #19
HomerMAC
Senior Member
 
HomerMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,063
Chats: 2219
Rep Power: 17
HomerMAC is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

.... i think there is a guy on the big org that does timming adv. or ret. for like 20$ on NA engines

"Alldeckedout" is his username. Ask him, and he should provide info on how he does it. He is out west I believe so he might help you out.

Im not a fan of these "performance" chips as most of them are just resistors... Either tell the car the air outside is colder or warmer than it is... or tricks the MAF by telling it there is more air or less than there is. If you wrap your IAT sensor in some Ice, you will get a little pep. Thats the idea behind most of it.
__________________


Yes it is ture.... i30 is the better maxima...

Yes it is true.... The ///M is the better B.M.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #20
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

OK so i ordered this, But i looked on youtube today and saw this video, Now iam abit worried that i just wasted $70, The vid is a year old and i do not know if ill get the same product thats in this video, When i get it, I will open it and post my findings.

If worse comes to worse, Ill return it.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #21
Shift_likeustoleit
Senior Member
 
Shift_likeustoleit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atl by way of the Bronx, NY
Posts: 1,633
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 14
Shift_likeustoleit is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. If this really did anything, it would be on everyone's cars, and on everyone's mod lists. Up to 60 hp and 4-7mpg for $70, yet no one talks about it or mentions it? Too good to be true.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by Shift_likeustoleit; 02-13-2011 at 12:21 PM.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #22
CLIPSE
New Member
 
CLIPSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Chats: 30
Rep Power: 15
CLIPSE is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

lol...scam
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #23
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor` View Post
OK so i ordered this, But i looked on youtube today and saw this video, Now iam abit worried that i just wasted $70, The vid is a year old and i do not know if ill get the same product thats in this video, When i get it, I will open it and post my findings.
YouTube - Performance Chips Direct Scam!

If worse comes to worse, Ill return it.
Let me know how it goes. If its good I'll buy it to
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011   #24
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightrider02 View Post
Let me know how it goes. If its good I'll buy it to
Will do, But i have a very high feeling of, I am going to return it.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #25
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Installed the chip<i mean variable resistor>. Going for a ride.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #26
redcross631
Senior Member
 
redcross631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,847
Chats: 1522
Rep Power: 14
redcross631 will become famous soon enough
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor` View Post
Installed the chip<i mean variable resistor>. Going for a ride.
in for the review...video if possible
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barada
steppin' up the level of i30ness
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #27
pr3ttyrobser
Senior Member
 
pr3ttyrobser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,137
Chats: 101
Rep Power: 14
pr3ttyrobser is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightrider02 View Post
Let me know how it goes. If its good I'll buy it to
Why pay $70 when you can go to Radio Shack and do it yourself for about $3 as stated in the video above.
__________________
Click the image to open in full size.
BRONX EDITION/NEW YORK STREET REVOLUZION
Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #28
ToTheMax
Formerly known as 99se5spd
 
ToTheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 625
Chats: 4215
Rep Power: 17
ToTheMax is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by pr3ttyrobser View Post
Why pay $70 when you can go to Radio Shack and do it yourself for about $3 as stated in the video above.
Exactly, is the placebo effect worth $70?
__________________
D0wn_Shift

2010 7th gen Autotragic
2010 2nd gen TSX 6spd (1st through 4th pull)

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #29
dineth00i30
that i30 guy
 
dineth00i30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Iz zattan island?
Posts: 4,849
Chats: 1279
Rep Power: 19
dineth00i30 will become famous soon enough
Re: performance chip

umm..you guys do know that it doesnt work without octane booster right? SMH.
__________________
04 6MT G35 Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011   #30
Knightrider02
Senior Member
 
Knightrider02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 1,073
Chats: 2
Rep Power: 14
Knightrider02 is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor` View Post
Installed the chip<i mean variable resistor>. Going for a ride.
Don't forget to update me
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011   #31
Professor`
Senior Member
 
Professor`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pottsville PA.
Posts: 1,826
Chats: 12824
Rep Power: 15
Professor` is on a distinguished road
Re: performance chip

Sorry guys i had you all going, I never bought it. Its just a scam.
Status: Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2021 NYCMaximas.org